top of page
  • Writer's picturetashfa

Pokémon Evolutions and Attempts at Screenwriting

Much like the story outline, our script itself went through various transformations. (I would have made a comparison to Pokémon evolutions but I actually don’t know enough about those to do that so let’s move on before you realise that the title of this post is a feeble ruse.) Whether we ended up with the best possible version of it as a result is debatable—because I usually stick to poetry and non-fiction, and this was my first time writing a proper script—but it was surely an insightful process.


I tried to keep it temporarily descriptive with shot headings, etc., when necessary for the visual telling of the story since this draft primarily served the purpose of tangibly articulating our very abstract idea on paper (a digital document actually, but same difference) to see a little more clearly what it would look like and if it was actually substantial. The idea was in its really early stages and the team members agreed that this might give us more of a sense of direction.


This first draft led to a few epiphanies for me, including the fact that a ‘how to write a movie script’ Google search 24 hours before you have to start filming is not a great idea, coming up with film titles is certainly not the forte of our team’s (collective) two very iconic brain cells, and writing dialogue is something I really need to work on if I don’t want the characters to sound like a lifeless imitation of robots.


THE FIRST DRAFT:


The final draft, and some of the first, was written using a script writing program to save me the hours of formatting I did for the first draft before I realised halfway through that I could just use a website as a text-formatting guideline. Ha.



On account of the first draft being very tentative, major changes were made to it in accordance with all the team members’ input as we went on with the planning and production of our preliminary film opening and discussed with each other what would work best, which I have already explored in the story outline.


I quickly noticed that it was much too long and a little convoluted for a short practice task, so the final script was drafted with that in mind.


THE FINAL DRAFT:




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page